Champs over six rounds in 2017

By Catherine Pattison on Sat, 3 Dec 2016 | Motorsport | Rally

The two-day Rally of Otago, April 8-9, is again the opening event of the New Zealand Rally Championship's six-round calendar next year.

Following the Otago event, which includes the Otago Classic Rally, is Whangarei (two-day), Canterbury, Coromandel, the Waitomo Rally (all one-day events) and the return of Rally New Zealand (two-day) as the finale. 

Round two, the International Rally of Whangarei, April 28-30, is also a round of the FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship. 

Crews return to the South Island for the Canterbury Rally on Queen's Birthday weekend, June 4, for the winter forest event that has featured snow in recent years. 

Following an 11-week mid-season break, the championship resumes at the Gold Rush Rally of Coromandel, on August 26. 

The penultimate round is on Waikato's gravel roads, which last hosted a standalone round in 1997. Rally Waitomo, October 14, involves 170km of special stages.

2017 rally championship

The 2017 New Zealand Rally Championship calendar.-

April 8-9: Otago Rally, Dunedin
April 28-30: International Rally of Whangarei
June 4: Rally Canterbury, Christchurch
August 26: Gold Rush Rally of Coromandel, Whitianga
October 14: Waitomo Rally, Waikato
November 25-26: Rally New Zealand, Tauranga*

*Final date subject to confirmation of 2017 FIA calendar