Dunedin academy's efforts recognised

Sat, 28 May 2011 | Latest News | MotorSport New Zealand
| Image 1 of 1 |
Daniel Kinsman will join eight other aspiring motorsport stars in this year's MotorSport Academy intake in Dunedin in July. Photo: Kinsman family

The New Zealand Academy of Sport South and the University of Otago's School of Physical Education received a special award at MotorSport New Zealand's annual awards event last weekend in recognition of their pivotal roles in the establishment and ongoing operation of the sport's Elite Academy programme.

Established back in 2004, the Dunedin-based academy develops the physical fitness, nutrition, promotional abilities, media skills, psychometric and mental performance of nine promising young competitors each year to assist their further development.

Graduates of the programme have included Dunedin's Emma Gilmour and John Whelan, as well as other drivers who have gone on to achieve international success such as Hayden Paddon, Shane van Gisbergen, Brendon Hartley, Earl Bamber, and Mitch Evans.

Soon after announcing the special award, MotorSport New Zealand revealed the names of those who have been selected for the 2011 Academy, which will run in July.

They are rally driver Matt Summerfield (Rangiora), rally co-drivers Tarryn Cox (Rotorua), Jason Farmer (Huntly) and Sarah Coatsworth (Inglewood), racing drivers Christopher Cox (Rangiora), Kyle George (Hamilton), Andre Heimgartner (Auckland), Hayden Pedersen (Rotorua) and kart racer Daniel Kinsman (Auckland).

Kinsman is the first kart competitor to be selected for the academy.